Steps to reproduce:
- In the settings, enable "Start Orion With: New Private Tab"
- Log into any account on a website
- Without logging out of the account for that website, close the app on your device by swiping up on the app's preview
- Optionally, you close out all tabs before swiping up on the app's preview.
- Reopen a new instance of the browser app
- Return to tested website
- Account is still logged in
It is expected that all sessions/cookies are removed when all tabs are closed and when the app is swiped up after using private tabs (or really, just when the app is swiped up regardless if all private tabs are removed individually or not). Though there is no "Remove cookie items" setting (whereas they exist for "history items" and "download items"), it is commonly understood that once all private tabs are closed and/or when the browser is closed itself, the browser should still remove all sessions/cookies. This should be identical to how it is on desktop and even how other browsers (mobile or desktop) behave. Orion should not remember any cookies/sessions within private tabs once the app is closed by swiping up. Currently, this only appears to be affecting browsers that have "Start Orion With: New Private Tab" enabled. History are not saved but session/cookies still remain. This is not ideal for "Start Orion With: New Private Tab".
Orion, OS version; hardware type:
Orion 1.2.10 (2) (WebKit 86188.8.131.52.2), iOS 16.6, iPhone 14 Pro Max
The video shows a demonstration of the session not being removed after closing the app with a session on https://orionfeedback.org. I also closed out all tabs just for the sake of it. However, it is understood that, regardless if you close out all private tabs individually or not, the browser should still remove all private tab sessions regardless once the app has been swiped up.